My Dad Showed Me How 2006

In 2006 I built a historical lightweight canoe together with master boatbuilder John Hupfield proprietor of Lost in the Woods Boatworks.  The boat was shown as part of the installation “My Dad Showed Me How” in the two person exhibit “Wagonburner, This! and Princess Moonrider, That!” at A Space gallery with the ImagineNative Film and Media Festival in October 2006.

The installation “My Dad Showed Me How” consisted of a 4’ long bow of a canoe protruding diagonally out of the wall at a height of 4’ from the floor. The canoe is made of ultra lightweight laminated marine ply veneers in the style of the Rob Roy Double Paddle Canoe covered with a lacquered woodland-style motif. The wall adjacent to the canoe included a projection of a small waterfall from Sequin River in Parry Sound and an adjoining wall mural. The hand painted floral design on the deck is painted in “bikini blue” marine paint and depicts regional indigenous plants.

For this work I evolved, building upon the tradition of historical birchbark canoes to the lightweight handmade canoes with kayak deck utilized today by my family on Georgian Bay.