Summer Indigenous Art Intensive UBCO



Artist Residency, Summer Indigenous Intensive, Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies, University of British Columbia Okanagan campus (Kelowna, B.C.) summer of 2017. Stephen Foster and Ashok Mathur (Summer Intensive Co-ordinators).

The 10 Resident Artists include: Jordan Wheeler, Maria Hupfield, Jason Lujan, Elle-Maija Tailfeather, Jake Chakasim, Jules Koostachin, Maikoiyo Barnes, Wendy Red Star, Leuli Eshraghi, and Jamie Isaac.

Keynote speakers include UBCO’s Canada Research Chair in Okanagan Knowledge, Jeannette Armstrong, as well as artists and theorists France Trepanier and Chris Creighton Kelly (Vancouver Island), Monika Kin Gagnon (Montreal), Shawn Wilson (Australia), and Linda Tuhiwai Smith and Graham Smith (New Zealand). All keynote talks will be livestreamed, and subsequently published in a monograph format.

This residency combined with keynote speakers brings together Indigenous and non-Indigenous artsits for a period of production, conversation, and presentation.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s